Funding Thanks

Newry City AFC would like to place on record our thanks to the Northern Ireland Executive, Sport NI, the Irish Football Association and the Northern Ireland Football League for their assistance in securing much needed revenue through the Sports Sustainability Fund.

We would also like to thank NIFL for their assistance through the NIFL Covid-19 Recovery Fund.


NCAFC Irish Cup Withdrawal

After careful consideration and discussion between players, management and committee it has been decided that Newry City AFC will regrettably withdraw from the 20/21 season Irish Cup.
This decision has been heavily influenced by the fact that our league has not been granted elite status this season. A decision to grant our league elite status would have allowed us to play our normal league fixtures and prepare for a cup fixture of this importance in a fair and proper manner, giving the competition the respect its status deserves.

We will now look forward to a resumption of competitive football next season and welcoming all football fans back to The Showgrounds.

Noel Healy Re-Signs at The Showgrounds

Intent on retaining the best young talent in his squad Newry manager Darren Mullen has followed up last weeks re-signing of John McGovern with another signature that is also sure to go down well with the Newry fans, Noel Healy committing his immediate future to The Showgrounds. Delighted to have secured Healy’s signature Mullen was keen to explain his reasoning:

“Noel is one of those lads who you like to see doing well. He is probably the one player who has developed the most over the past few years and has grown into a super young player. As with any young player he has room to develop but knows he’s at a good place to do that. He has become a real fans favourite and is equally as popular in the changing rooms so I’m delighted to have him on board for at least another two years.”

As for Noel he explained to the club media team that he was only too happy to sign back:

“I am delighted to sign again for at-least another couple of years. I love playing here, I love the atmosphere about the club, the fans seem to like that I give 110% every game and I can’t wait to get back playing competitive football at The Showgrounds. Hopefully by the time we get back playing the fans will be allowed in and help us get Newry back to the Premiership.”

More Good News

And the good news keeps coming….

Manager Darren Mullen is pleased to have secured the services of John McGovern for another season at The Showgrounds commenting “This is terrific news for the club. John has been a breath of fresh air since he first joined the club and it has been a pleasure watching him develop into the fine young player he has become. I’ve no doubt he will go onto bigger and better things so to have him at the club for at least another year is a huge boost for us all. He knows there are parts of his game that need to improve but his willingness to learn from the coaching staff at Newry and the NI youth international set up will undoubtedly help him get there. John’s current journey is a great example to any local lad of where talent and hard work can get you and I’m delighted he has stayed with us despite interest from elsewhere.”


John added “I am delighted to have signed with Newry City AFC for another season. It’s been a steep learning curve since joining Newry but I am looking forward to continuing my development here. I believe we have a strong enough squad to compete and get promoted next season. I have spoken to Darren and identified areas which I need to improve on personally to help my game.

The support I have been given as a young local player at Newry from the beginning has been incredible and like the rest of the lads I just want to get back playing competitive football at The Showgrounds.”

Mullen Secured for Two Years

We have some good news that our Chairman Martin McLoughlin would like to share with our supporters….

“We are delighted to announce that First Team Manager Darren Mullen has agreed to stay on having signed a new two-year contract. Unsurprisingly, given what Darren has achieved both for the club since we reformed and personally, progressing to his Pro Coaching licence, there were other opportunities open to him and it’s a massive boost to the club that he has decided to commit himself to Newry. Hopefully restrictions will soon be lifted and we can start to prepare for a full season in 21/22.”

Darren added “It has been a long few weeks with a lot of soul searching but I’m delighted to have agreed a new deal with the club. The past year has been tough for everyone football and otherwise which had led me to consider my own future. I took time to speak to the players, coaching staff and committee and it was evident that they all shared my desire to drive this club forward on and off the pitch. As a proud Newry man I would love nothing more than to take the club back to The Premiership and for the next 2 years will ensure that as a group we do all we can to make that happen.”